Shawn Mendes: “Stitches” is “A Very Good Bridge” to New Music

As the VMA’s aired all around the nation on August 30, 2015, new and young artist Shawn Mendes tells Billboard that his new single is a very good start to what’s to come in the future.

Shawn Mendes just scored his first-ever Top 20 hit on the Hot 100 chart, as his latest single “Stitches” moves 32-20 on this week’s chart. The teen singer-songwriter spoke to Billboard about the song on the red MTV Video Music Awards red carpet, saying that the Handwritten single is a good indication of what’s to come on his next full-length.

“I think it’s a very good bridge to how my new music is going to start to sound — a little bit more soulful, and it’s still obviously a good pop song,” says Mendes. “I think it’s the right vibe, and it’s emotional, and that’s what I’m all about when it comes to writing music. I think when you have raw emotion in a song, it makes it great.”

Shawn Mendes: ‘It’s Not Easy To Have a Radio Hit’

So does that mean Mendes is already working on new tunes? “Absolutely, I never stop working on new music,” he confirms. “It’s changing and developing and growing and it’s really fun.”

And of course, Mendes wants to thank his fans for helping “Stitches” crack the Top 20, in its 14th week on the chart. “If I didn’t have my fans at the beginning of this, I wouldn’t have had ‘Life of the Party’ go No. 1 [on iTunes], and nothing would have happened, so I really owe it to them,” he says.

Being a young adult just like Mendes, I admire his work and use it as a sense of motivation for me and all young people to never give up on your dreams.

Leave a Reply

