Behind the Scenes of Jurassic World

As I spent my Saturday afternoon feeling extremely lazy, I decided to watch Jurassic World. Although I haven’t seen the first two movies, it didn’t matter. The story line was very clear and contrary to my belief, not confusing one bit. Several thoughts and questions ran through my head while I was enjoying the movie, but the one that kept coming up was how they made the dinosaurs. I was constantly returning back to this question because the dinosaurs looked so real in the movie that I was almost afraid for my life!

The topic proceeded to take over my thoughts over the last day or so and I finally decided to do some research on it. On a website that is strictly only for movies and how they’re made, I found that many of the close-up sequences of the dinosaurs used animatronics. For people who don’t know what animatronics are the Internet definition states that it is the technique of making and operating lifelike robots, typically for use in film or other entertainment. The directors of Jurassic World chose to use animatronics to make the creatures seem more realistic and make the audience feel like they were actually right with the characters. The use of animatronics brought a more emotional impact to parts of the movie. This is especially true for the Apatosaurus sequence, which created a more intimate feeling in a more emotional scene due to the practical effects of animatronics.

I watched a short video on how sculptors made the Apatosaurus and they started with a foam cut out and then proceeded to take many steps to create the lifelike creature. The first step after they had the foam cut out was to put a clay-like layer of “skin” over the foam so that they could begin sculpting the exact features of the dinosaur. After the first trace of features, they do the same thing but with a heavier layer of clay that is more of a gray color, which is the color of the dinosaur. The next step is to put a carving of the dinosaur around the 3D replica to get the exact shape of the dinosaur. When the shape is there, they then take a rubber base put it over the almost-made creature, and put it in a kiln for twelve hours overnight. By the time the creature is out of the kiln it portrays a shiny, slimy dinosaur that we all think of when we think of dinosaurs.

After discovering this research, I have come to the conclusion that it takes a ton of work to make just one of these dinosaurs, let alone over a hundred that are in the movie.

Leave a Reply

