The Hunger Games: Mockingjay- Part 2

hunger games 2

As many of us are aware due to all of the tabloids and advertisements on social media and television, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay- Part 2 hit theaters around the country Friday, November 20, 2015. The final film in The Hunger Games series, easily topped the box office this past weekend with an estimated $101 million in the U.S. alone. Not only is this total the fifth highest opening of the year, but it is surprisingly the lowest opening weekend of the entire series.

This star-bound emotional rollercoaster tells the final story of The Hunger Games series that attracted so many fans around the world. As the war of Panem escalates to the destruction of other districts by the Capitol, Katniss Everdeen, the reluctant leader of the rebellion, must bring together an army against President Snow, while all she holds dear hangs in the balance.

hunger games

I am somewhat surprised by some of the reviews that I have seen all over the media over the last few hours because after seeing the film the other day, I was drawn into the story line and didn’t want the movie to end.

“The Hunger Games: Mockingjay- Part 2 is the least enjoyable of the films by a considerable margin, a dull, grim, slow-moving slog.”- The Atlantic

I COMPLETELY disagree with this review!! I mean COME ON. It’s the final movie of an entire series. It was full of surprises, you had no idea what was going to happen, I was on the edge of my seat for most of (IF NOT ALL OF) the movie, and it definitely tugged at my emotions. There were so many twists and turns with the plot that made the story line feel so realistic and make you feel like you were in the movie yourself. There was definitely a lot of unexpected things that freaked you out, made you cry, or made you incredibly happy and just want to scream, “YES!!!! I KNEW IT!!!!” (yup… you guessed it… that was me).

“As the dystopian sci-fi franchise’s emotional, moral and physical heart, Lawrence once again delivers the best reason to stick with the four-movie epic.” –Washington Post

I can’t seem to find the right words that describe my feelings during and after the movie… it was just pure greatness. I still get chills thinking back to what all went down and I will continue to recommend this movie to EVERYONE. Whether you have read the series or not… I have not read it… this final film is a must see, without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

