Oldies but Goodies

Do you ever just think back to your childhood or middle school days and notice how different the music was back then compared to what it is now? Not even just the music was incredibly different, but the TV shows and movies have changed so much over the years.

If you grew up in the ’90s and 2000s, Disney Channel Original Movies taught you how to navigate through middle school, what to wear, and that your best friend of the opposite sex is definitely in love with you. Growing up in the early 2000s my childhood memories consisted of watching Hannah Montana, That’s So Raven, Phil of the Future, and other various Disney Channel hits that remain oldies but goodies. My favorite movies back in the day included Pixel Perfect, Stuck in the Suburbs, Zenon, and The Lizzie McGuire Movie. Nowadays the movies range from The Hunger Games and Divergent to Daddy’s Home and Neighbors. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I am definitely not complaining about the present-day movie selection, but it’s nice to reminisce back to the old days and what things were like back then. (Fun fact: I recently spent a sick day reliving my childhood on YouTube watching all, or at least most of, the old Disney Channel movies.)

Throwback music has got to be among the best music of all time. Back in the day, and I mean 5 or 6 years ago, the music that I listened to was a variety of things from artists like Nicki Minaj, Lady Gaga, Usher. Now, this might be dating myself a little bit, but way back in the good ‘ol days I ate, breathed, and slept NSYNC. The leading bandmate, Justin Timberlake, was my idol– and in some instances, my “boyfriend”… keep in mind this was the early 2000s so I was really young. I remember riding with my mom and my sister everyday to Nixon Elementary School and as we ventured on the fifteen “ish” minute drive, we jammed out to NSYNC while eating our little cereal bars for breakfast. Our favorite song to sing was their hit single Bye, Bye, Bye; if I had to guess, we probably listened to that song at least three or four times in just that one car ride.

It amazes me how these oldies but goodies can bring back such amazing memories that we often times forget about. I think this is one of the better qualities that throwback music has and why I consider it some of the greatest music of all time.

Leave a Reply

